The flag


The Korean flag is called "taegukki", it is the national emblem of the country. It acts of a circle separated into two by a sinuous line, derived from the symbol Chinese taoist, expressing balance between the opposite forces.
The higher red part "yang" symbolizes the sun, element active of nature, male principle, while the lower blue section represents the obscure "yin", ground or the moon passive elements, female principle.
Once coupled, the forces of the "yin" and "yang" symbolizes the concepts of the continual movement; balance and harmonizes which characterizes the sphere of the infinite.
Lastly, the circle is surrounded of four sets of three bands (trigrams) in each corner. Each unit symbolizes one of the four universal elements: sky (ciel), ground (terre), fire (feu) and water (eau) and their philosophical derivatives.